Can I edit/delete an invoice?

Draft invoices

You can edit drafts as often as you want or delete them. Please note that a draft cannot be restored once it is deleted. Read more about the differences between drafts and approved invoices here.

Approved invoices

Once an invoice has been approved, it is no longer possible to edit it. If it needs to be corrected, you will need to follow one of those two options: 

  1. Cancelling an invoice and recreating it
    1. Click on your invoice > More > Delete
    2.  Go to your deleted invoices, and create a copy
    3. Make the changes, and make sure it is now correct before approving it. 
  2. Issuing a credit note and recreating the invoice
    1. Your invoice's status needs to be something else than "Paid"
    2. Click on your unpaid invoice > More > Credit note
    3. Approve the credit note
    4. Click on the original invoice > More > Copy as new
    5. Make the changes, and make sure it is now correct before approving it. 



Useful tips

  • If you have marked an invoice as Paid, change the status to Not paid to create a credit note.
  • If you have already received a payment for the original invoice (the one containing a mistake), you should not delete it, but create a credit note instead. 
  • Deleted invoices will not be included in your reports, but you can download them in a csv-file by selecting the folder >Invoices >More >Deleted. Click on the three grey lines of the invoices list to download.
  • If you made a mistake and accidentally deleted an invoice, you cannot restore it. However, you can create a copy by choosing the deleted invoice from the folder and click >More >Copy as new. The copied invoice will get the next invoice number from your numbering sequence.
Was this article helpful?
36 out of 75 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request